MMT Fall 2015

MMT Fall Mix 2015

Finally, here’s a fall mix fresh off the presses of 8tracks for you to enjoy.

About half the songs are from this year, most others are from within the past five years, and a few are from the ol’ wayback machine.

On it, you’ll hear songs about self-acceptance (#12), bad and dangerous habits (#4), heliocentrism (#2), hope (#10), familial genetics (#14), late-night adventures (#5), and love & loss (all the other numbers, basically).

The tracklist and artwork were compiled again with help from the fine folks over at Faithless Street. If you’re curious, the name “Faithless Street” is a reference to an old Whiskeytown album, not to atheism or agnosticism… not that there’s anything wrong with those.

Special thanks to Nick, a brilliant and funny weirdo who has great taste in both music and bourbon.  He did the cover.

This download link will be available for a limited time.

As always, if you find something you like, please support the artists — buy the album, buy a t-shirt, and/or go see a show.

1. Advance Base – Night of the Moose
2. Gashcat – The Morning Sun
3. Mikal Cronin – Turn Around
4. A.A. Bondy – Vice Rag
5. Josh Ritter – Where the Night Goes
6. Van Morrison – Saint Dominic’s Preview
7. Ryan Adams – My Father’s Son
8. Fort Frances – Days Get Heavy (acoustic)
9. The Felice Brothers – Forever Green
10. Phil Cook – Ain’t it Sweet
11. Astral Swans – The Beginning of the End
12. Adult Mom – Told Ya So
13. Langhorne Slim – Blow Your Mind
14. Saintseneca – James
15. You Won’t – Television
16. Craig Finn – Roman Guitars
17. Quiet Life – Storm Clouds
18. The Sun Parade – Heart’s Out
19. Library Voices – Oh Donna
20. Jack Garratt – Weathered

Lots of other good stuff floating about the internet this week too. Here’s some of it.

Gashcat – The Morning Son / Horseshoe Crab / Lady of the Ark
If the phrase “In the Aeroplane Over the Sea” means anything to you, then you’re in for a treat. This band is reminiscent of classic indie rock acts like Neutral Milk Hotel, the Pixies, and the Replacements in the best of ways. But don’t fall in love with them too much, tempting as it may be — they’re now defunct. They only released one album, called Reunion, a few years ago, and it’s now out of print.

Kyle Craft – Future Mid-City Massacre / Balmorhea
But fret not! The singer-guitarist, Kyle Craft, has an as-yet-untitled record planned for release later this year.

Anderson East – Find ‘Em, Fool ‘Em, Forget ‘Em (live @ KEXP)
This Anderson East fella wrote and released a great record earlier this year called Delilah. He also recently stopped by KEXP. The whole four-song set is worth checking out, but this one gets the feature because the horn players and the drummer get to show off in it.

Until next week, cheers.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s