Weekly Roundup for September Eleventh / shoppers in an endless mall

On this week’s roundup . . .


Ian Felice – 21st Century / Road to America

Ian Felice quietly released his debut solo record just a couple weeks ago.

His older brother Simone served as producer and drummer, and his younger brother James can be heard throughout the record as well.

It’s called In the Kingdom of Dreams, and it’s fantastic.

Check it out.


Iron & Wine – Last Night

Speaking of great new records…….


Jason Isbell & the 400 Unit – Tiny Desk Concert

Settle in for 20 minutes of acoustic goodness with Jason Isbell & Co… and a random lucky fan at the end.


Inka Gold – Unchained Melody (William Stirrat and Alex North cover)

The story behind this song is suitably sad, but well worth a read.

Contrary to popular belief, the song was not written by The Righteous Brothers or Patrick Swayze.


Josh Ritter – When Will I Be Changed (feat. Bob Weir)

This fellas writes great songs.  It’s just what he does.


Colter Wall – Thirteen Silver Dollars

Even after a hundred listens or so, this song and this record still sound thoughtful and catchy and timeless and great.

Listener’s note: Mr. Wall is Canadian.  “RCMP” stands for Royal Canadian Mounted Police.


On Friday, The National released a new, predictably good record called Sleep Well Beast.  You can hear them perform it live in its entirety, right about here.


Until next week, cheers.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s